Located on the breathtaking Riviera del Corallo, on the north-west coast of Sardinia, this beautiful villa was originally erected in 1880 on the ruins of an ancient watch-tower by Alessandro, third count of St. Elijah. In order to satisfy the tastes of the Count's English wife, Lady Rosamond Marke Wood, the building shape resembled the look of a medieval castle, reflecting the trend of the time and the rank of the family. Alghero had already become a prestigious holiday place for numerous travellers of noble lineage by the end of the 19th Century, but when the Count's brother Alberto became Chamberlain for the Pope Pius XI and then Pius XII, the villa became a meeting place for the high society of the time, including among its guests the Romanov Pricesses and the Italian Royalty. During the Second World War among the visitors of the villa was also Antoin de Saint Exupéry. In 1959 Francesco Arborio Mella, fifth Count of St. Elijah, sold the villa to its current owners. The property was renovated and a new floor was added to the main building. The villa is distributed on 4 floors and it features a main hall, a living room, large dining rooms and kitchens. There is a total of 25 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms (including 4 Master bedrooms with sea view and terrace and 1 Suite with park view and terrace). The building includes an annex lower ground floor and staff apartment. The annex building is currently used as a Spa, with fitness and beauty area, covered heated swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walk, showers and changing rooms. It also includes warehouses, storage rooms, additional staff room, ironing and laundry rooms, electricity generator. Beside a large parking area, a helipad and a 4,4 acres park, the property has state concession of 2,791 sq. mt. (about 30,043 sq. ft) of coast surrounding the villa with a private beach and boat docks.